Social Good Summit 2013

SGS icon

In just a few days, I will be making my way up to New York City to immerse myself in the fourth annual Social Good Summit 2013—a truly awesome (as in the real definition of the word) gathering that has one major, collaborative goal: to meet global challenges (aka make the world a better place) using new media.

As a newcomer to the event, I have been binge reading my way across the web, cataloging links and notes, preparing my ears, eyes and typing fingers for the virtual reams of information that will surely pour out of this mass think (out loud) tank. 

Over the next few days, I’ll be sharing a handful of details that I am most excited about, along with ways for you to keep pace with the conversation during the event (Meetups are planned around the world).

You can get a feel for at least one of the speakers, Matt Wallaert (BING/Microsoft), right here, as I recently interviewed him regarding Bing for Schools. Increasing digital literacy across technology-deficient schools across the country, is just one way this social do-gooder is trying to make a positive impact. I am eager to hear what he has to say about “The Struggle for the Future of Attention.” 

There is plenty of scoop online, so I don’t expect to outshine the savvy writers already “expert” on the Summit. However, for the green peeps in the (cyber) house, I hope to pique and satisfy your curiosity.

If you’re into making the world a better place, you’ll want to pull up a seat to the Internet Sept. 22-24. Together we can be the #2030NOW change.

Leave a comment